The Master’s House, in the heart of Ledbury, is a late medieval timber-framed open-hall house, part of the wider St Katherine’s hospital site, itself rare example of a medieval hospital complex that is still intact.
With funding of £1,174,200 from the Heritage Lottery Fund and £3 million from Herefordshire Council, the restoration of this Grade II* listed building will provide space for a range of community organisations as well as the John Masefield Archive which brings together books and original documents about the life of this Ledbury-born Poet Laureate.
We have developed two interactive touchscreen exhibits and a popular tablet tour to enhance the visitor experience, giving them a choice of easy-to-use and enjoyable ways to explore the building.
A tablet tour of the house enables visitors to explore star items in their own way and at their own pace, guided by a plan of the building which they can use to scroll through and tap on points of interest.
Alternatively, they can create their own tour, exploring by themselves and using NFC tags to access information about specific features around the house.
Along the way the visitor can meet characters associated with different parts of the building. Each has a video in which they introduce themselves and talk about their life in the house.
The tablet tour means that visitors can view and listen to the videos without disturbing the experience of nearby visitors who might be enjoying other aspects of their visit.
We have also developed two interactive touchscreens exploring the history of Ledbury and the life of John Masefield, a writer and poet, who was born in Ledbury and became Poet Laureate in 1930 until his death in 1967.
Both the tablet tour and interactive touchscreen allow the client to update and add information themselves through our content management system.